Latest Articles

NFL OPOY Betting Odds

Josh Allen


We all know that the NFL MVP award is the most prestigious award in the league, but the Offensive Player of the Year award is also one of the most sought-after honors in the NFL. There are a plethora of players that could shock everyone and win the award this year, and today we will be taking a look at the betting odds and discussing which ones are worth taking for this year.


  • Jonathan Taylor +900
  • Cooper Kupp +900 
  • Derrick Henry +1200
  • Deebo Samuel +1200
  • Davante Adams +1400
  • Justin Jefferson +1600
  • Patrick Mahomes +1800
  • Christian McCaffery +2000
  • Nick Chubb +2000
  • Josh Allen +2200
  • Lamar Jackson +2200
  • Dalvin Cook +2500
  • Justin Herbert +2500

This award is historically hard to predict, but with these odds, there are some bets that I think are much better than other ones. 

The people towards the top of the list seem solid in theory, but when you actually think about it, those are odds that might not pan out well. If you take out a bet on Jonathan Taylor, Cooper Kupp, or Deebo Samuel, you are betting on the off chance that they repeat their massive success from last year, and I don’t think chasing that is a very fruitful strategy. 

If you want a safe bet, go for Josh Allen at +2200 this year. Sportsbooks and real money online casino sites have been taking a ton of action with Josh Allen this year and for good reason. He has a chip on his shoulder after losing that playoff game against the Chiefs in the Playoffs and a lot of people think the Bills are going to roll over teams in 2022

He has proven to be one of the best quarterbacks in the NFL, and his situation just continues to improve year by year. He will still be throwing to Stefon Diggs and Dawson Knox, and he may get a breakout campaign this season out of Gabriel Davis. 

Quarterbacks are never a bad bet to win OPOY, and Josh Allen is among the best of best and will almost certainly be a top contender for the award in 2022.

Another bet I like is Justin Jefferson at +1600. He has been one of the best young wide receivers in the NFL since entering the league, and now with Kevin O’Connell at head coach, he may take that next step into the elite of the elite. 

Jefferson continues to get better year by year, and we have seen a recent trend of wide receivers breaking out and earning the OPOY award. Michael Thomas won it in 2019, Cooper Kupp won it in 2021, and now Jefferson is in a good position to compete for it in 2022. 

Cooper KuppKevin O’Connell was a big part of Cooper Kupp’s success last season when he was the offensive coordinator for the Rams, and now as the head coach of the Vikings, he will likely try to utilize Jefferson in a similar way. It’s hard to project if and when players break out, but he seems as primed as anyone to take that next step forward and compete for the award in 2022.

To close out my picks, I love taking Justin Herbert at +2500. The Chargers are building something special in Los Angeles, and if he can continue to improve, he may very well be at the helm for the best offense in football in 2022.

Herbert has continued to improve every year of his career, and he will once again have elite weapons to throw to this year. Keenan Allen, Mike Williams, and Austin Ekeler are all more than capable of helping a quarterback reach new heights.

Herbert is currently sitting at +2500 odds to win the award, and I think that is a slam-dunk long shot for this year. He currently has lower odds than players like Nick Chubb and Lamar Jackson, and barring anything unforeseen, Herbert will be squarely in the mix for the OPOY award in 2022.

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

About Gridiron Experts

Established in 2008
Gridiron Experts is a Fantasy Football advisory website providing content and advice to help you win your fantasy league. Nearly all our fantasy experts have over 15+ years of experience. Learn more about our staff here.


Fantasy Awards

Copyright© 2023 Gridiron Experts

To Top